About Letters From A Distant Shore

Tragedy shattered Marie Lawson Fiala’s life as a wife, mother, and lawyer when her 13-year-old son, Jeremy, was felled by a massive hemorrhage from a ruptured artery deep in his brain. Within an hour, Jeremy was in a coma, sustained only by machines.  This memoir of a mother’s ferocious care and fierce determination to bring her child home alive and functioning despite devastating loss will win the hearts of families who have ever suffered from physical trauma with loved ones. Just when Marie believed all hope was lost for her son to talk and to walk ever again, her family organized three world-wide prayer vigils for Jeremy, using the internet support network that had been following Marie’s email updates on Jeremy’s condition posted from his hospital bedside.  After each prayer vigil, Jeremy showed dramatic healing, far surpassing his doctors’ predictions.  Was this a coincidence or a miracle? Readers will find their own faith in things unseen as Marie tells her tale of Jeremy’s recovery and homecoming.  Letters from a Distant Shore  is both a profoundly spiritual work and a gripping read.  The suspense is relentless and the author’s observations as sharp as a scalpel.

Marie Lawson Fiala’s account is lyrical, moving, and utterly absorbing.  In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking or Martha Beck’s Expecting Adam, she details how ordinary existence can change in an instant.  The reader learns how a family’s terrible challenge can bring great wisdom, renewed spiritual strength, and even moments of joy and beauty.

—Gretchen Rubin, Author, The Happiness Project (New York Times #1 Bestseller)

Read more praise for Letters From a Distant Shore

 

 

You can follow Marie’s blog, “A Mom Writes,” by going to Psychology Today online, or to the “Other Writing” page.

 

Letters From A Distant Shore is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Powell’s Books.  Please use one of the following links.

Letters From A Distant Shore – Amazon.com

Letters From A Distant Shore – Barnes & Noble

Letters From A Distant Shore – Powell’s Books